Bill Summary 1st Session of the 59th Legislature

Bill No.: SB 807
Version: INT
Request No.: 618
Author: Sen. Garvin
Date: 01/25/2023

Bill Analysis

SB 807 creates the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Commission, which shall be comprised of 13 members representing the health community, state and local law enforcement, the medical marijuana business community, and the Legislature. Members shall be appointed by the Governor, President Pro Tempore of the Senate, Speaker of the House, the Attorney General, the Director of the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control, the Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, the Chairman of the District Attorneys Council, and the Commissioner of the State Department of Health. The Commission is directed to study evaluate, and make recommendations for any changes to state policy, rules, or statutes for the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority. It shall prepare and issue a report of its findings and recommendations to the Governor, President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House by December 31, 2024, and each year thereafter. Members of the Commission shall receive travel reimbursements. The meetings of the Commission shall be subject to the Oklahoma Open Meeting Act.

Prepared by: Kalen Taylor